Archived on 6/5/2022

Best wine list in SE?

Jonesy
28 Mar '17

Please could someone recommend the restaurant with the best wine list around? And food and ambience for that matter.
Which is the best restaurant we have to impress those that are not familiar with the area/wine snobs?
Hoping for an authentic French/European local.
Thank you all :slight_smile:

anon5422159
28 Mar '17

I’m no wine expert but Babur (gourmet Indian on Brockley Rise, in Honor Oak) has never let us down. They do a paired menu, which was fantastic.

Michael
28 Mar '17

SE would seem to include SE1, so i would possibly recommend Oxo Tower or The Shard (haven’t been there myself - but the Big Cheeses from the Big Apple in my company seemed to like it when they came over).

Jonesy
28 Mar '17

Thank you but I am after somewhere more local with exquisite wine and food, doesn’t need to be flashy :slight_smile:

Was hoping there would be a good French/European restaurant or something of the sort nearby. Definitely not after the sort of place “big cheeses” from NY would like. Something authentic and nearby with a good wine list is what I’m after.

I want to impress my wine-snob friend with Forest Hill/Dulwich etc sort of areas!

Also, I had very bad stomach pains the last time I ate at the Shard!

Jonesy
28 Mar '17

Thank you

Brett
29 Mar '17

Best wine list locally I can think of is at Mr Lawrence. They don’t serve food though. (You can bring in food, good burgers and wings, from next door London Beer Dispensary)

You could try Toasted on Lordship Lane. Wine list is curated by owner/sommelier. The food is good but ain’t cheap. Lunch seems to be taster sized portions which never appeals to me but could impress your visitors. Coffee is good there too.

ETA: why not try Le Querce? The decor is a little quirky but I think it should tick most the other boxes. Wine list isn’t extensive but is good if happy with Sardinian.

Dave_Benson
29 Mar '17

More of a wine bar