Personal introductions


#86

That’s a very thoughtful and interesting introduction. Thanks for sharing, @vicspics, and welcome to the website.

I saw some of your photos on Twitter and was really impressed (the IR ones were astonishing). If you’d like to share them with the forum, we have a topic here that would gratefully receive them:


#87

Thanks Chris. Unfortunately I’m a phonephobe and my mobile is steam powered. I just installed fake android OS on my PC (called ANDY Android) and then opened an instagram acc but having a few problems with it. I do have a tablet so maybe I can use that to show pics from my Google photos acc.
For now I’ll leave this link to one of my infrared galleries on Google photos. The are West Norwood, Camberwell Old and Nunhead cemeteries, Sydenham Wells park, Crystal Palace Park and stadium, Streatham Rookery and woods, Morden Hall park (small streams and Georgian mans) and Richmond park with deer and a couple from Eltham Palace.
279 new photos · Album by Vic Chapman


#88

Hello All,

My name is Phil and my partner and I moved to Honor Oak Park in October 2015, having lived in Bethnal Green for 5 years. Despite initial concerns about missing the “buzz” of central(ish) London, we’ve loved it here so far, and haven’t looked back.

I work in insurance in the City, and she’s a teacher in Kent.

Thus far we’re big fans of Mama Dough, the beer dispensary, Brockley Market and St. David’s Coffee House. We try to patronise local businesses as much as possible (including the rather calamitous opening night at Hattush!) and would love to see any and all new additions to the high street. A fishmonger, bakery, greengrocer, or another butcher would be very welcome!

I look forward to contributing to the forum / community!

P.S - Chris, great job on the website. I think this is the best designed online forum I’ve ever seen!


#89

Lovely to get to know you better on here @Phil, and thanks for the comments on the site.

Really I can’t take all the credit for the design of this site, as I’m benefiting from some excellent open source software (Discourse), and I’ve also benefited a lot from the input of @Pauline, @thirstforwine, @Snazy, @RachaelDunlop, @Londondrz and others.

Glad to hear you’re enjoying HOP. I live here too (Ebsworth St), and the improvements over the last few years have been so encouraging.

Let me know if I can help in setting you up with a profile picture.


#90

Hello, my name’s Matt. I live in HOP with my wife and baby daughter (nine months old now!).

I’ve been a little down on the area recently (mainly because of some troubles with a local business), so thought joining this site might help me appreciate life in SE23 a bit more.

Anyway, I’m a composer/sound designer for a living. Which, frankly, isn’t a proper job, but seems to be where I’ve ended up!

I like the green spaces round here and the amazing convenience of the Overground line, but could do without quite so much of the anti-social noise (which probably affects me because of the nature of my job and with having a young baby!).


#91

Welcome to the site @MattB - nice to meet another Honor Oaker (I’m in Ebsworth St). Pop into the July meetup (Thurs) if you can make it. The last couple of meetups have been really good fun.


#92

Damian De Leon
Art, Nature, Politics and Eclectic Music

Greetings fellow SE24ers! Just thought i’d introduce my self briefly…

I’m a happy mid-30s London born digital designer working in the creative industry for 9+ years. I’ve been living in the SE23 area for 4 and a bit years now and love it to bits. I studied Interactive Multimedia design at Bournemouth Arts Institute, then Media Production & Practice at Bristol UWE. Like most, I love to travel and learning about new cultures, I spent a great 5 years living and working in Portugal, and due to my best mate being French, i spends lots of time in the Languedoc area in the South, where i’ve become mildly addicted to visiting the white horses and flamingoes of Camargue’s beautiful beaches. Although a city boy at heart, I love the outdoors and enjoy taking long walks in rural spaces. I enjoy a good game of badminton or backgammon with friends, I also have a great interest in food and enjoying making loved ones smile, or, cry, with my cooking or taking them to Barcelona Tapas for some octopus! I’m an avid news consumer and documentary buff, with history, science and nature the main topics. I like to visit small galleries, and have a great love of whats now called ‘Street-art’. Visiting the Natural History and British museums are staples for me and i try to go to either every few months, something which always reminds me of my childhood.

Random fact: I was the youngest juror on record at Snaresbrook crown court at 18 years and 4 months (1998), after being called for jury service just 2.5 weeks after turning 18.


#93

Great intro @DeDae2022, and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

I see you’re interested in politics so I have opted you in to our “Politicos” category so you’re able to see and take part in all the discussions we have there. A few of us have taken the political compass test, so you can see where we all stand, and if you like, take the test and join the SE23.life compass :slight_smile:


#94

Hi all,

I’ve been in FH for about 18 years so I can remember when it was considered the backside of South London - that is if people had heard of it at all. There has been a lot of changes over that time - most of them for the better. I am currently loving the new found spirit of FH which this site epitomizes.

I genrally don’t post much personal stuff on the web and this username is not one I generally use but I am sure that some bright folks here will be able to associate them!

Anyways - I am 51 and mainly interested in beer, food, cycling, growing my own and making my own stuff. I work in IT doing sysadmin stuff (not the bright shiny stuff that @chrisbeach does so well!) with servers and systems at a local(ish) well know independent school - pays the bills but looking for a new venture as I type - something local. I moderate an allotment forum and I am secretary of a private allotment association in Brockley. I spend most of the summer in the garden or down the plot talking rubbish with a load of silly old men and women who should probably all know better.
I ride my bike very day - mostly going out of my way to get to work on time but taking in the hills of SE London. I love watching and, to the dismay of my wife, talking about cycling. I love the old punk spirit of DIY and helping yourself and others - this site seems to fit the bill for that so well done @chrisbeach.
So I make my own stuff - bread, soap, hand cream, bath bombs, bacon, wine, chorizo and of course I grow a lot of what I eat - just need to get my own brewery up an drunning.

I started working life as a courier back in the 80s
Here is me posing for someone’s graduate photo course assignment!


Spent some time travelling, got into IT through doing print ops and then my mate naffed off to Africa to drink for a living and gave me his job and I have been doing IT systems stuff for the last 20 years. Still time for something new!

Local shops that I love are Finches (which is possibly the greatest shop in London), Crafty Beer, Shannon’s Garden Center and the Proud Sow which is a fantastic butchers for both meat and banter!

This is a nice site - looks original, well programmed and content is developing nicely. I’m sure you could make a bob or two syndicating this round London postcodes!


#95

Lovely to find out more about you @Foresthillnick. Sounds like we have a lot in common! Thanks for sharing.

Regarding syndication, I own a lot of postcode.life domains across London and I am always on the lookout for an enthusiastic and IT-savvy co-admin from a neighbouring postcode to kickstart the next .life venture with.

The team and I have learnt a lot from the first couple of months of SE23.life and there’s still lots to learn, but once we’ve cracked the local forum formula (which is far more about community / people / processes than technology itself), we’ll see neighbouring “.lifes” popping up all over South London and beyond.


#96

Well if you ever need someone… :wink:


#97

Sorry for the late reply, but just wanted to say welcome and great intro.


#98

Wowza, I have to say, when I first started this thread I was not expecting so many deep and detailed replies from so many people.
I just want to thank everyone who has posted and introduced themselves for being so open minded and sharing so much with a bunch of strangers, or is that friends who have not yet met?
Either way, howdy neighbours, hope to meet a few of you at some point.


#99

Hello all,

I’m Andrei, 29 years old and moved to Forest Hill (Gaynesford Road) 3 months ago from Selhurst. Quite new to the UK as I’ve arrived just one year and a half ago. Originally I’m from Romania and I work as a business analysis in the city.

Regarding hobbies, I love music (mostly old Hip-hop, jazz, raggae and old rock music), technology, video games, beer and football. Would be great to get in touch and make friends as this is the hardest bit of moving countries.

By the way, if you guys need any sort of help with music production just give me a message.


#100

Welcome to SE23 :slight_smile:

A good way of meeting up with locals is by coming to an SE23.Life monthly meet up.

On another note you might be interested in getting involved in Forest Hill Arts, give me a shout or just pop in to my shop for a chat if you are interested :+1:


#101

@Pauline thanks for the sugestions, I’ve already cleared my schedule for the proposed meet up dates. Will try to drop by this weekend to get verified as well.


#102

Great stuff :slight_smile:


#103

Looking forward to meeting you IRL @Andrei, enjoying a beer and talking about technology I’m sure! :slight_smile:

You might like our “calling all geeks” topic :nerd:


#104

Hi fellow SE23-ers,

My name is Villem and I have lived with my girlfriend in Forest Hill (on Stanstead Road close to the Forest Hill fire station) for almost four years now.

We are both originally from Estonia, but moved here as I started my BA Media & Comms studies at Goldsmiths in 2012, graduating in 2015. The decision to move here and go to Goldsmiths came through my sister as she has been living in London for more than 20 years, most of this time in Greenwich (even though she recently moved to New York via Muswell Hill, so gave up the SE London life a bit - I’m sure she’ll come around though, lol).

A lot of my coursemates are from around here - one lives in Catford, another one near Blythe Hill Fields etc.

I work in Central London at a digital fabrication start-up, where we make (create) all kinds of things with laser cutters, 3d printers and general model making techniques. My girlfriend Kay works as an ENT nurse in Central London as well.

We are both really into films (I even specialised in sound design for films at Goldsmiths) and regularly visit all kinds of rooftop and pop up cinemas across London - is there anything exciting happening in Forest Hill film screening wise? Any suggestions would be more than welcome! I am also strongly into electronic music - sampling from vinyls and producing music (drum&bass mostly) on my makeshift studio setup (the wonders of renting a flat - can’t turn it into an acoustically treated studio that looks like a Star Trek spaceship control room).

We would love to take part of any cool activities around Forest Hill so we will try to be active in this forum, happy to stumble upon it randomly.

Villem & Kay


#105

Welcome Villem and Kay! Your job sounds really interesting. I think you’re in good company here - lots of creative types in SE23. Hope to catch you at our meetup (or the gin club, or the games night!)