Archived on 6/5/2022

Possible local phone scam?

Mark_Gowen
19 Oct '16

Possible phone scam to be aware of? I’ve just had a call to my photography business work number from a local ‘crime prevention’ publication, purportedly being distributed to over 30,000 addresses in the local area and for which I am supposed to have signed up for a 1/4 page ad for my business on 8th June and for which I now need to pay! Needless to say I have no knowledge whatsoever of placing advertising in such a publication and slightly suspicious that the caller (from a withheld number) should hang up as soon as he hears “absolutely no knowledge of this” … Anyone else had similar calls in the area recently?

MajaHilton
19 Oct '16

Yep. I also come across invoices that say on the back that if you write anything on the face of it it means that you agree to the order. It goes to my Rich uncle needs help of getting his money via my bank account file. They usually target bigger companies where managers change and new ones assume it was done in the past.

Sometimes some organisations have weird way of raising funds, and they are not very forthcoming that they need money and you could support them by placing an advert that you don’t really need or want. Up to you but I would never do it while expecting the advertising will be of any impact.

AndyS
19 Oct '16

Dreadful. I’m sure I’ve heard the advertising scam before. It’s shameful.

You may already know but if you get a call from a number you don’t recognise (assuming it hasn’t been withheld) you can put the phone number into Google. You might find it’s your mobile phone company calling you. Or you might find it listed on one of the various websites where people post phone numbers and what happened. E.g., “020-5555-1234 - Caller said someone in my family had been in a car accident…”

Pauline
19 Oct '16

Shocking! My bank card got cloned recently & its quite scary what people can do when we have no knowledge of these things :rage::rage: