Archived on 6/5/2022

Property section

Ed.H
22 Jun '16

I have a flat to rent, wondered what section it should go in? Commercial? or a new section?
Many thanks
Ed

anon5422159
22 Jun '16

Could I ask you pop this in commercial for the time being while I discuss with the team.

From my own perspective I think Rightmove and Zoopla are probably better geared up for property listings.

Ed.H
22 Jun '16

Thanks Chris. Will do. I know the East Dulwich forum has quite an active ‘Residential Property’ area for people requesting accommodation and landlords offering to rent. For me it seems a bit more personal finding a Tennant on a forum who is obviously interested in the area rather than faceless property site. I’m new to this though

anon5422159
23 Jun '16

“Property” could make a really good candidate for an opt-in category, for people that are specifically looking to buy/sell/let/rent. What do you reckon, @anon64893700, @RachaelDunlop and @thirstforwine ?

RachaelDunlop
23 Jun '16

I’m happy for us to have a property section. And happy for private LOCAL landlords and sellers to advertise. Can we make it a requirement that they get verified, to make sure they are local residents and not estate agents or absentee landlords? It might be a good idea in fact for anyone offering things for sale.

anon5422159
23 Jun '16

Good thinking - we need to have clear ground rules for this category. If it’s an opt-in category, we can enforce these ground rules by “opting out” anyone that breaks them

anon64893700
23 Jun '16

Surely this isn’t a section of its own? More “offered /wanted”
It’s a nice idea to somehow be a forum based property agent which is what it would become if it became popular, but not sure it demands it’s own section at this stage.

Again, an opt in category isn’t really suitable for out of area folk to stumble across when looking for somewhere to live locally.

anon5422159
23 Jun '16