Archived on 6/5/2022

Starting to commute to work by bike?

comoed
23 Jun '16

I know there are a lot of people that like the idea of cycling to work every now and then, but dont because they are a frightened of the cars, dont know the easiest way, or dont think they’d be able to make it.

The days are nice and long and warm at the moment, and its a perfect time to start biking to work, so as such I’d like to offer my services as a guide to take anyone who is interested in a ride towards London in the morning. I’m happy to go a bit out of my way (Barbican is my daily destination at the moment) if anyone needs a specific route.

I dont have any particular qualifications, other than I’ve been riding a bike for around 40 years and know my way around the various cycle routes into town.

If anyone is interested, comment below or contact me and we can work out a meeting place/time.

anon64893700
23 Jun '16

What a lovely idea an offer @comoed :slight_smile: That’s what I like to see.
I agree the roads can be an intimidating place, especially early days, but a little co-existence and all is not so bad.
So great to see someone offer help with overcoming the early day jitters, and showing how rewarding it can be.

The little cycling group is also planning some morning weekend rides in town too, so you can get the idea of a route, and how it’s not that hard really, without the stress of the traffic, then build yourself up to it.

Londondrz
23 Jun '16

I am keen but my other half would rather I didn’t. I got taken out by a drunk driver in 2008 and spent nearly a year off work as a result. I was on a motorbike and she feels a bicycle is more dangerous.

anon5422159
23 Jun '16

This is a really positive idea, and thanks for kicking this off @comoed.

As a note to new SE23.lifers: there is an opt-in category for deeper chat on cycling, which you can join by replying to our “Calling all Cyclists” topic.